Friday I’m In Love: The Weekly Wrap-Up

I was a guest on the world’s best podcast-about-television- recorded-in-a-radio-station Boxcutters again this week – you may remember last time I did that I wrote about RRR’s espresso machine. Well here’s a picture:

Oh coffee, I love you so. If you want to hear me blather on about Quantum Leap, visit www.boxcutters.net– since I’ve already done the research I’ll probably use it here next week as well – after all, there’s just so many unanswered questions.

I also recently had a chance to see the studios of Joy Melbourne– it’s somehow fitting that the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgendered/ intersex/ham-on-rye radio station should have the most fabulous studios in all of Melbourne. They’re part of a great new Arts Mind Meld building in the city, where a whole lot of organisations – MIFF, Fringe, Melbourne Queer Film Festival – have been locked in together and won’t be let out until they’ve created an important new work. Or had a bunch of marketing types fill in several grant applications, whichever comes first. It’s like Big Brother, only without the racist grandmothers. And the views from the studios are amazing, hopefully I’ll be in there again soon and will bring back pictures.

So what have we learnt from the Institute this week?

1. The food on the restaurant tram is surprisingly good.

2. If you’re ever in nineteenth century Melbourne, you can find prostitutes on Romeo Lane and Juliet Terrace.

3. Green Lantern once had an alien vegetable for a pet. It was called Itty.

4. There are no Italian knock-offs of 2001: A Space Odyssey starring Caroline Munro

Remember this weekend is the start of the Melbourne Writers Festival. Luminaries such as David Sedaris, Kate Atkinson and Augusten Burroughs will be so close you could spit on them. But don’t spit on them. That’s just weird.

As a general clean-up around the Institute all the comments from the “about”page have been put away for safe keeping. So I thought I’d move one of them here – Melbourne muso Jimmy Yukka wanted to share the glory of Watermelon Man. You can find Jimmy Yukka here – catch him live, he’s great.

Finally I’d like to thank sfsignal.com and poison ivy and for directing people to The Outland Institute this week (the Wong Kar-Wai slippers are on back order, and I promise they will be here soon).

See you next week.

2 Responses to Friday I’m In Love: The Weekly Wrap-Up

  1. I gotta say when I went on the Tram restaurant I wanted to leave the whole time for some reason. Maybe it was the company I was keeping; a boring ex who was trying to be romantic and save our relationship that should have only lasted for 1 year max but instead dragged on for 5 & a half hellish years. Now whenever I see (or hear about) the restaurant tram I get chicken skin and rapidly spew out a Linda Blair green slime while spider-walking backwards up the stairs, down the street, into the National Gallery, anywhere.

    I served Augusten Burroughs a coffee once at the Sydney Writers festival in umm 2004 (or was it 2005?) That was the highlight for me that year (apart from the hot group sex on Christmas Eve @ Headquarters)

    Re the Friday Night video. Is that you in the pink when u were young(er)?

  2. outlandinstitute says:

    Damn you, Mr Valentine – I am rumbled! I am indeed the one in the pink – The Outland Institute has all been part of a masterplan to generate an Arabesque revival – I am releasing “Friday Night (2008)” next Sunday at the Peel…

    That’s a bad tram story…

Leave a Reply

